MikeWest

By MikeWest

Pink Snow/Yellow Orange Lines

Edit: I was so focused on catching up with my blips, I forgot I hadn't copied these sunset shots from the card that I took later in the day.

I'm not usually a fan of sunsets because the high dynamic range loses all detail and you're left with silhouettes that are often not great shapes. Of course the colours are dramatic, but the composition still needs to be strong and it's a frantic dash to find something when you get the chance. I'm not sure I achieved my aim here.

I liked this shot because of the reflected light on the snow, a scene that happens infrequently. I liked it so much I decided to replace my original post.

The Vortex released its grip and although today's high was 21F, it felt pretty warm by comparison. I found today quite hard because of very flat light leaving no texture in the snow at all. However, this plant was bursting with colour against the stark white background and instantly caught my eye. I liked the lines it formed on the blank canvas of snow creating an interesting pattern.

The colour is so strong I can't decide if I got the white balance correct. One minute it looks too pink, the next a hint of green, like some kind of optical illusion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.