Vienna

I caught the train to Vienna with 2 girlfriends early this morning. The weather was kind for a day out - 15 degrees and the forecast rain stayed away. We started out at the Town Hall where there is a huge ice skating rink. It goes around to the left under the arch and looks magnificent at night when lit up. There were quite a few skaters despite the early hour and the Glühwein stalls were already open. We then went to Mariahilfestraße, a shopping area outside the the city centre. A few purchases were made and lunch was eaten. The next stop was the Naschmarkt, an open air fresh food market. Nearby are several Asian stores where I stocked up on items I can’t get locally. We also located an English shop where you can get items not normally available, like Vegemite and Marmite. Rather expensive but I bought Golden Syrup and dark brown sugar rather than bring them back from Australia. We had walked 9 km and my back had held up for most of the day, although was kaput by the time I got home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.