yvonnekgray

By Dollykgray

MonoMonday - tension

... headache. 
I had to shorten some pants for a friend yesterday and I had a  lot of trouble getting the Tension on the machine right. I bought a cheap Singer from Aldi when our old sewing machine died and had only used it once. I eventually sorted it out and decided this morning to sew a buttonhole and button on some trousers that had been waiting a long time for repair. The machine has a dedicated buttonhole foot which  worked perfectly on my test material once I had worked it out. I think I used a spool of cotton on the practice piece. Sewing the buttonhole on the waistband was a different story. It was much thicker and I had also patched the inside of the band where it had frayed. After a lot of trial and error and more practice buttonholes I ended up with a passable buttonhole on the pants. Sewing the button on was also no walk in the park. The thick waistband and the button wouldn't go under the button foot so I had to look for a thinner button. I think it took me an hour to get it sewed on. I could have sewed it by hand quicker but I wanted to try the machine. I also wouldn't have had to resort to pills and a stiff drink.
Thanks to laurie54 for hosting this month

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.