Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Farmers Market, DuPont Circle, Washington DC

If I have to to fly a weekend, I do love going to Washington on a Saturday, because on a Sunday there is always a Farmer’s Market at DuPont Circle. I’ve blipped this in the past, but I never tire of all the interesting things to sample and buy there. I see some of the same stalls each time, but there are usually new ones too, and of course the produce varies by season.

It had been cold in DC and there was still a bit of snow on the ground, but the sun was shining and it really warmed up during the day. I bought a hot breakfast sandwich with heritage pork sausage, egg and cheese and it was very yummy. I followed that up with coffee and a Greek pastry while I sat and enjoyed people watching, dog watching, listening to the guy playing the steel drum and another playing jazz on his trumpet. I ended up staying a couple of hours, reading a few chapters of my book while soaking up the sun on my face. It was hard to pull myself away and head back to the hotel to get ready for work. A perfect few hours in DC!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.