Land-and-seascapes

By tondrijfhamer

On the third day..

This Friday winter morning our Scottish adventures continued at 07.15 hours. The first location, marked #15 on our list, was a small parking place along the A82, near the bridge, that is near the newly built Kings House Hotel (re-opening this month by the way).

No fog today, so we could continue now a the place we originally wanted to start yesterday. After a short walk (over the bridge) along side the A82 we took a turn to the right and walked into the snow covered beautiful but boggy landscape. I was glad I brought my hiking stick with me. With that I could poke to feel how deep the snow was and if there was water hidden beneath. Our goal was the river Etive. We ended up almost under the bridge we just walked over. From there we had a jaw dropping view at the Buachaille Etive Mor.
We’ve all captured this mountain over and over again on previous trips, but this mountain keeps amazing me every time I see it again.

We did our thing. When the first light hit the top of the mountain coloring it orange and magenta we went silent and kept on exposing one photo after the other.
After a while we plodded on along side the river. Ron and Herman looked for new compositions with the rocks in the river but all I could think of was getting my drone up in the blue sky. Conditions to fly couldn’t be better.
So that’s exactly what I did. It turned out to be my best flight so far. I shot some great photos and filmed fantastic footage. (too bad blipfoto can’t show film)
After a flight of a bit over 14 minutes my Pilgrim I returned to it’s landing pad perfectly.

Time for breakfast, at least what was left of it. We came back at the hotel after 09.30 hours so we could only get ourselves a continental breakfast this time. We didn’t mind. Toast, eggs, yoghurt and coffee were sufficient. No haggis this time. I didn’t mind that at all.
What’s next on the agenda? We decided to go to Loch na-h’Achlaise in the afternoon.
To fill up the time we walked to the small Torren Lochan located near the hotel.
Arriving there at the scene the sun was shining brightly in our face, but not in a position we’d hoped for. We walked on for a few meters to get a better position. Once there, the sun was gone, clouds came rolling in and it started snowing. What?? We didn’t order that!
I took out my 400mm and started shooting minimalistic. Lone trees in the distance during snowfall, with a big mountain as backdrop. Awesome! Another great shoot. The crackling sounds coming from beneath the ice in the frozen loch at our feet, made things complete.
Later on, back in the boots-bar of the hotel, we had lunch followed by a short break in our rooms.

Around 14.00 hours it was time to go the Loch na-h’Achlaise. (nr #18.2 on our list). The walk to the lake shore turned out to be yet another fitness workout. We took our positions and enjoyed the magnificent views over the lake with beautiful mountains in the backdrop. I turned to my 400mm again and captured some great details. Small islands with little trees in the frozen lake were the perfect subjects for me. Later on, when it was a bit less cloudy I switched to a wider view. Herman and Ron did too. We all hoped for a few shafts of golden light to hit the mountain. Unfortunately that didn’t happen. New clouds came rolling in, delivering a bit more snow. After capturing a panorama of the whole scene, we plodded back to the car. You can’t win them all. No sunset light today. 

After a hot shower and an Angus beef burger in the bar, I’m now tiredly typing this blip. It’s 21.20 hours and I think I’ll call it a day. I’m very happy with the new photos I now have in my collection. Scotland keeps amazing me.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.