The best thing

Breakfast in the hotel is often the best thing of the stay. This time also a pillow was.
I forgot to ask, if they would have sold me the one in Sokos hotel Vaakuna. The breakfast was splendid too!

However happy me in the evening as I found a train to take me from the capital to hometown - despite of the snow and ice (which have been the reason to cancel various train connections today). There is a lot of snow here this year, and the Finnish Railways has made an unwise decision to buy Italian equipment, which apparently is not best designed for the Finnish winter conditions: trains have begun to break from the bottom, due the thick layer of snow.

When traveling, it is odd to hear almost constant cracking noise from underneath the vehicle traveling 130km /hour.

Feeling really tired and slept sometime during the train journey. The day back in headquarters was interesting, but filled with braintraining, as the meeting with the nordic countries collaques was held in everyone's own languages, which meant mainly different kind of dialekts of Swedish. It is not my best skill to speak it, even though Swedish is the second official language, but I can understand it quite well. The problem was danish and norsk, but to my surprise I understood most of the issues somehow. Lady of the Island spoke English, which was a big help.

In the extra my train.
Some problems with it's brakes, I am sure. Not too smooth ones. Italian gift to the Finns.

Susanna

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.