eyes of the ocean

Here's another Tessa Ransford volume (her last - as pictured and published in 2015); which I managed to pick-up a few days ago ...

... and another favourite from within:


Lily of Raasay

Lily of Raasay
gentle your growing
child of the islands
woodland and moor;
you will imagine
worlds for exploring
as you are stepping
over the shore.

Father and mother
comfort and hold you
their love is for you
better than gold.
Grant you courageous
sensible, kindly,
bonny and thoughtful
honest and bold.

Dark as the raven
eyes of the ocean
hazel and willow
wisdom and grace;
mountain and birch trees
above and around you
light of the islands
shines from your face.

Lily of Raasay
what more can I say?
Now I behold you
give you my words.
When I have left here
they will be with you
silently singing
for all my sweet loves.

---

Tessa Ransford (1938 - 2015)

---

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.