Under Pressure

It’s not been a great day. I woke up in the night with palpitations which still hadn’t gone this morning when I woke up very shaky with chest pain. As I’ve been monitoring my blood pressure, I rang the surgery to see if I could get an appointment. The GP rang me straight back and told me to get someone to drive me to A&E. I had to ring D who had just arrived at work but he cancelled his meetings and came straight back. We then spent 5 hours at Addenbrooke’s where I was wired up to machines, had lots of blood taken, x-rays etc. At one point, the doctor said they couldn’t let me go home because my my BP was so high ( I know the top number was 200, the bottom number in the 90’s).
They eventually let me go home with a prescription for medication and a promise to make some lifestyle changes although the main cause seems to be stress and anxiety and I’m not sure there’s much I can do about that at the moment.

I’m now tucked up in bed with a hot wheaty bag and the TV for company.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.