CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Seeking the owl again

I had a very early and busy morning at the market in Minchinhampton which went well. When I returned home the sun was shining and after Helena went off to have lunch at a housebound friend's home in Chalford, I suddenly had the urge to go looking for the tawny owl again.

I headed for a different entrance to the park at Frampton Court which I'd spotted on a map, and which meant I could go straight to the huge beautiful old beech tree where I'd discovered the owl some weeks ago. The weather forecast was correct and the overcast sky began to clear just after I'd prepared the camera. 

I knew where the nest of the owl is but wasn't sure whether it would be in residence or even visible. To my delight I spotted it immediately I pointed my lens at the nest. I walked about and tried to find the best view through the tree's bare branches which kept wafting around  in the strong breeze and obscuring the nest.

Finally I found a good spot and shot a lot of frames and then moved a little further away to try to get a clearer view. Imagine my surprise and absolute delight when I saw a second owl's head nestling up to the owl I'd first seen, the one on the right. I managed a few pictures before the second owl retired into the background and I walked away with a huge smile on my face having shared a few moments with a pair of owls looking back at me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.