'Davethebodger' building an oak chair

I arranged to visit Dave C. this morning at his home, or at least in the workshop at the bottom of his garden. I wanted to get advice from him about his website, Instagram (@davethebodger on Instagram) and his photography. I arrived via their back gate into their garden, which leads off Horns Road and his workshop is close by. I was invited in to see what he was working on and I was amazed at how full of tools it was. I hadn't seen Dave for a while since just after he refocused his work life on being a woodworker. He now terms himself a greenwood craftsman and bodger, which I think is a term for people who work with green wood. Dave started out carving spoons from large pieces of wood and now is in great demand as a builder of hand-made wooden chairs. He also runs spoon carving courses locally to pass on his skills. From his website you can see much of what he does and buy his products, which include his landscape photographs. I must add that once upon a time Dave was a blipper, but I'm not sure he has time to continue here.

It was great to see him again and I also met his son Rob, who is a keen Ultimate frisbee player, and I expect he'll come and visit soon to talk disc play history! Dave provided me with lots of good information so I was delighted that we'd met again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.