A greedy bullfinch foraging on the trellis

I sat with the back door open as I ate my lunch today, a sign that warmer times are approaching. With the sliding doors open the birds are much warier of approaching the feeders that hang just a few feet from the open doorway.

That isn't true of this bullfinch which for some time has been much more likely to hang around and eat constantly. By being less fearful it has the place to itself. I put my macro lens on the camera and just sat watching it, eyeball to eyeball a lot of the time.

It spent a lot of time standing on the top of this trellis, just a few inches higher than its current position, munching away on a mass of seeds it seemed to have stuffed into its mouth. Then it hopped dow to the bottom of the trellis where seeds had dropped into the spaces between the woodwork. I couldn't help laughing when it tried to squeeze its chubby figure through the gaps in the trellis and it finally made it through. It then jumped down into the container just below where a lot of chaff has accumulated and it carried on munching.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.