CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Belvedere mill and pond at Chalford

We've had a fine sunny day to enjoy the snow covered landscape today. Once again Helena had to leave home early to go to the Shambles indoor market and luckily was offered a lift by our neighbour, as it was very slippery leaving our road.

I decided to prospect for snowy photos around Minchinhampton and took far too many. It was lovely up on the top of the hill where the temperature was slightly colder and thus the snow had melted less. I walked around the common before heading back to the fine church and memorial in the centre of town. Then I went to the Crackstone, the ancient standing stone near Hampton Fields where the light was beautiful, before driving a few miles north to Bisley.

I had to drop down into the Golden Valley near Chalford to cross the River Frome before ascending again to Bisley, where the road straddles the river close to the old Thames and Severn canal. With the sun shining on the willow tree I couldn't resist taking pictures here too.

I think I will start adding pictures to my Flickr galleries again as there are several I'd like to show. I'll add a link in a day or so. I've blipped this view many times and here it is in springtime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.