Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Colourful Canal

There were a  couple of sticky moments on my overnight train trip north.  

A gentleman stepped into my sleeping compartment, asserting that 'this is D9'. 'C9', said I, and he backed out, apologising.  

A bit later I went for a wander up the train, and realised that I was indeed in D9. I went to see if C9, where I should have been, was unoccupied - but it wasn't. I interrupted said gentleman in his undies, cleaning his teeth. It could have been worse.

I was wakened at 6 am by the noise of uncoupling - the train splits and portions go to Edinburgh, Glasgow, Fort William and Inverness.

Sudden thought - as I'm in the wrong berth, maybe I'm not in the bit that's going to Edinburgh. These trains don't stop till they reach their destination. It was pitch dark, and there seemed to be no crew aboard.

I went back to bed. When we stopped, I was very happy to see the familiar Edinburgh skyline glowering down at me.

I went to singing this morning, and to sewing group in the afternoon. I cross the canal to get between the two. It looks as if the ice in almost gone. 

Tonight I should be dancing, but I'm out of steam, and have retired to the sofa, with my second G&T. I've brought a sniffle back with me, but tomorrow we're off for a bracing weekend in St Andrews.  That should clear the tubes.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.