Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Her name is Luna

I don't have a philosophy. I have a camera. I look into the camera and take pictures. My photographs are the tiniest part of what I see that could be photographed. They are fragments of endless possibilities.

--Saul Leiter


Thanks to missjatravers for introducing me to Saul Leiter's work. I love his grumpy voice, impatient with the bullshit of art criticism and labels and influences and categories. I love the color in his street work. I exult in the discovery of what he did and made and said. I want to see more of his work. If you want to laugh and think, if you want to hear the voice of someone who doesn't have time for a lot of crap talk about ethics and the meaning of it all, someone who does the work and doesn't give a damn what others think or don't think about it, read the interview from which I took that quotation, which I've linked to his name.

This picture has nothing to do with Saul Leiter and his philosophy or lack of it, or with street photography. I'm dog-sitting, and this is what my life is about right now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.