Day 039/19. Rain stopped Crypt.

I saw one of my photo friends put a picture online of a dry crypt in Winchester Cathedral earlier this week. I thought today as it was lashing down with rain I'd go along and take some of my own.
Alas, they stopped the Crypt tours this morning and locked the access gate, as the crypt again starts to flood as the water table rises.  (See extra picture).  Don't worry though, this is a regular occurance and the Gormley statue 'Sound II' is more often than not standing in water.
So, instead I took a picture of the diving helmet commemorating the amazing story of William Walker.
When huge cracks started to appear in the early 1900s, the Cathedral seemed in danger of complete collapse. Early efforts to underpin its waterlogged foundations failed until William Walker, a deep-sea diver, worked under water every day for six years placing bags of concrete.
6 years, every day, amazing. The diver who saved the cathedral.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.