Not a helmet

So we were at the National Civil War Centre in Newark, which is full of such things as helmets, armour, swords, cannonballs, maps and lots of information regarding battles and sieges. And what do I come away with? 

A picture of the Newark Torc, which has nothing at all to do with Civil War. I think most of it sort of passed me by, although I did a quiz and came out as a Roundhead, which Gordon said was good. I know so little about this kind of history.

The Newark Torc is much more to my liking. It is absolutely beautiful and is probably Iron Age, around 200 - 50 BC. It is made of rolled gold wires twisted into 8 'ropes', the terminals of pure gold decorated with motifs. Imagine finding this with a metal detector, as someone did. Imagine who might have worn it. Fabulous. 

Gordon was interested in the Civil War stuff, as he does read a lot about it anyway. And the place has very good coffee and cake. 

We are overnight in Newark and complete our journey south in the morning. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.