Day 6

Mom was taken to hospital on Sunday, so that makes this day 6. Day 3 on a proper ward.  Dad seems to like to visit early afternoon and I take him so we are developing a bit of a routine where I do the things I have to do in the morning and the evening and spend the afternoon with Mom and Dad. Trying to , trying to, not sure what I'm trying to...   Keep things going?  Make sure everyone is ok?  Helping Dad understand what we might need to do?  Helping Mom have happy moments in a very confusing situation for her?  Making sure Rob is ok?  Hoping my sister understands the things she might have to deal with while I am away for a short time at the end of the week?  And the rest of the stuff that comes with normal life.  Normal?  Ah yes.

Well, this morning I decided I had to make time to get some information about local care homes in case we need one.  That situation is not clear yet.  We visited one which is only open to fully funded patients who are sent there for very special support.  I don't think we will need that just yet.  Then we went to one of the Dementia Gateway Facilities and spoke to a very helpful dementia worker who provided us with a list of homes and some advice on how to do things.  Very useful.  So a start has been made, creeping like little snails tentatively into the future.  You can see Dad reading the list in this Blip.

As you can see,  Mom is not in her bed.  The physiotherapists had come to see her and she had managed to move her legs over the edge of the bed so that she could sit up.  They were very pleased with her but have to keep taking her blood pressure.  Unfortunately, toilet routines decided to kick into action at that point so the physiotherapy session ended up in the bathroom and then the nurse wanted to give her a shower and change the bed.  So I tried to make myself useful and we eventually got Mom into bed.  We looked at some photos I had taken in on Dad's iPad, but she was very sleepy by then so we decided to leave her to have a sleep.  I like the visiting hours - we can go any time between 11am and 8pm - seems to work well.

So that has been today.  I've also managed to catch up with some of the admin connected to the sculpture project, do the ironing, some shopping.  Thought about which camera equipment to take on our little holiday...

Oh, and, of course, sort out a blip.  I am sure you all understand why there aren't many comments or such like coming from me at the moment.  I am finding it very therapeutic being able to write about my days as they are at the moment, and I really appreciate your supportive comments.  Thank you lovely Blippers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.