A day in the life

By Shelling

The End

You are looking at Kalmar Central station. Home for trains, buses and cabs. And with the castle in the background, once the object of war between Denmark and Sweden because the Danish border was just south of Kalmar. Thousands of people have died between me and the castle. Paid soldiers and young peasant boys, just old enough to lift a rifle.

I had an errand in town today, the first sunshine we've had for weeks even though there was some clouds when the picture was taken. There is warmth in the sunbeams, no doubt about it, and it's lovely to just stroll around for a while. That's what I was doing when I passed the station and I came to think of something a student once remarked about being in Kalmar. She thought it was so depressing here because it's the end station and you can't get any further. To her it was like the end of the world. We talked a bit about her feeling and, for once I made use of my positive-thinking-training and asked her to reverse her thought; Imagine, you are living in a place full of possibilities, only your imagination stops you from going where ever you want in the whole world, and beyond. This is where it all begin! 

The thought did have some effect on her, at least we got a good laugh together thinking about different ways to view the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.