Maidencombe

It's always nice to have a beach to yourself. It's even better when you find that the beach is completely pristine, not a footprint anywhere. I knew the tide would still be quite high and of course dog walkers tend to find somewhere else when there's not much beach for them.

I found myself a place in these rocks and set up my tripod on a rock. I was at risk of wet feet when a big wave broke but I had a great viewpoint for my long exposures. I always like to set the shutter release as the wash peaks then I get the pretty patterns of the backwash and I do like the one I've blipped here.

As I started the long climb back to the van, I noticed a sign on the side of the beach cafe. It said, "In case of a cardiac emergency, a community defibrillator is available at X cottage opposite the Thatched Tavern". As far as I can see that's 50 metres above me vertically and the route is up the steps and up a steep gradient. I think I'll try and avoid requiring it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.