Parking Garage Art

I very, very seldom, almost never blip Other's Art. No particular reason, I just don't. But here's an exception to my 'rule'...
I joined some of my PhotoClub friends this afternoon in Beautiful Downtown Gainesville for a 'field trip'. Our mission was to photograph 'Walls' since that's this month's Club Theme. We spent most of our time in a parking garage which has been transformed into a 'Peaceful Oasis' by local artists... see *extra. I was happily snapping away when I spotted a very large mural on a wall clear across the parking garage from where I stood. I recognized it's 'style' immediately. Sure enough it was painted by a very talented artist friend of mine, Sherrie Pettigrew. I took a few shots of it and when I got home I gave her a call to ask permission to share her work with you. "of course!" she said. So here it is. She didn't seem to remember the signs on the wall so my guess is that they were installed after her art work. She told me that friends and some of her Art Students helped her by painting a few of the feathers. Sherrie creates her Fine Art using "graphite pencil, paint, pastel chalk and found objects". Do take a look at her website at... DrawingThoughts

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.