Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Hanky Panky

To Southport today for a visit to the Robert Mapplethorpe Artist Room currently at The Atkinson http://www.artistrooms.org/artists/robert-mapplethorpe

It’s always good to see Mapplethorpe’s photographs ‘up close and personal’, and I enjoyed the exhibition very much. Other visitors seemed to be enjoying it too.

I was particularly drawn to the gentleman whose bottom I’ve Blipped today! I thought he had a very Mapplethorpe vibe about him - so, I whipped my ‘phone out and took this shot, inspired by Mapplethorpe’s Polaroids. I originally intended it to be in black and white, in keeping with the bulk of the Mapplethorpe oeuvre, but, in the end, I felt these colours were just crying out to be seen!

(He also got a photograph of me... but it wasn’t of my backside!)

The Extra shows another visitor with portraits of Patti Smith and Keith Haring.

Today’s song just has to be Patti Smith’s ‘Memorial Song’ for Robert Mapplethorpe https://youtube.com/watch?v=m8fejoJ7bQk

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.