Kipsie

By Kipsie

Pigeon racing days are long gone ......

Another treasure from Colin's orchard snapped this afternoon. Spoilt for choice, so I can guarantee there will be more finds on here in the future.
"Go up anytime you like maid, you don't need to find me first".
I can remember flocks of racing pigeons in the skies over the village back in the day .. The best part of 40 years ago, maybe even longer .. The wooden boxes are still in good order which is surprising seeing as the exterior is looking pretty wonky. Part of it is being used for storing cut logs.
Bob was very laid back this morning, would'nt even come out for me to clip on his lead so it was just Lola & I who left home at 10am which was when the Met Office said the rain would stop, and it did. Must remember to consult the Met Office more often before I set off. I'm sure Lola keeps catching the scent of a deer she nearly pulled my arm out of its socket, so I was really grateful when I was able to let her off. We had a lovely time walking over Chudleigh Knighton heath this morning, lots of big squidgy puddles, & pools of water in between the mounds of tufted grasses & gorse. Dead gorse makes a good retrieving stick, & there was plenty to choose from as the DWT who manage the heathland have been clearing some of the land to encourage other vegetation. The sun was shining, the birds were singing their little hearts out, & not a soul to be seen anywhere. Bliss!
An afternoon visit to the orchard was shorter than planned as the wind was bitterly cold, but no worries I don't think anything will be going anywhere for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.