Kipsie

By Kipsie

Pot au "Phew that could have been you"

Friends swung by for dinner last night, en route, from Cornwall to London. Sopha, Ben's Thai wife had promised to make my husband John, (abbreviated to J from this point onwards) Larb moo, a spicy minced pork salad. In return I made a roast turkey dinner with all the trimmings. J ate the salad, Sopha, Ben & I ate roast, Ben & I finished, Sopha then started on the Larb moo, followed by chocolate cheesecake with double cream. Sopha is 5'nothing, if that, but boy can she eat, quote "Look my legs thick". In fact, I've not met a Thai woman who dos'nt eat. I don't mean they are fussy eaters, I mean, they never stop eating. Sopha had cooked rice and made food, from a 'shed load' of ingredients that she brought from Thailand for her months visit, before they left Cornwall yesterday morning, and they were only travelling for two hours. I guess we MIGHT make a sandwich. So she made enough Larb moo to feed an army, & I had roast turkey to use up, so a big pot of veggie soup with some lovely fresh herbs from the garden, and chopped turkey thrown in at the end will keep J fed for a few days. I'm having bubble n squeak with the left over cooked veg. There is nothing in the world quite as good as b n s. You've got to let it burn a smidgeon to get the aroma and flavour. Mmmmm! Closest I've found abroad was a dish called Pytt i panna, when I lived and worked in Sweden.
It's been a bit tame today by my standards, not that I'm complaining.
Popped over to see cassiesmum with a birthday card for one of the maids she's going to Costa Rica with, then strippedpaint arrived so had a chinwag with him, perused some of his recently developed images of Sacre' Couer & gave him my highly valued opinion. Lol!!! That's about it.
See you tomorrow. X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.