Kipsie

By Kipsie

Yes we have some bananas .....................

It felt like Friday the 13th this morning .. I REALLY had to check..... honest!
Bob the Jack Russell, one of my canine charges has a weight problem as I think I've told you, so before this morning's venture out into the elements and my introduction to Storm Erik, that's Erik, spelt with a K, I chopped up some tasty raw carrot recall treats, that done and popped in my pocket along with more poo bags, I went to get togged up, could I find my waterproof trousers anywhere, no I could not. So, and before you think to yourself, you should not begin a sentence with the word so, I do, but I don't, apologise. It's something I do quite often. I mean who's brave enough to tell me off. Where was I, ah yes, so with my 50-75% waterproof, my jacket is 3/4length, & welly boots on we set off. Today we had only gone 25yds before Bob dug his paws in and refused to go any further, so back we came, depositing him in the kitchen. If he thought I was going to let him in to crash out all snug and comfy on the sofa while Lola and I were braving Storm Erik, he was mistaken. Wind hurling around and rain lashing down we headed for the heathland, better to stay in the open and get wet than walk under trees and tempt fate, even though it is'nt Friday the 13th. Having a great time retrieving sticks, when I suddenly caught a flash of white away in between the copse at the edge of the heath.... bloody hell! It's a deer!! And Lola has got the scent of it .. This piece of heathland although well fenced borders the A38 dual carriageway, all I'm seeing in my mind is a deer leaping over the fence out onto the road, Lola following, causing a multiple pile up. I frantically call her, running like mad across the heath. SHE IS NOT listening to me. I lose sight of the deer & Lola. Then I spot Lola racing along the perimeter fence of the copse. Please don't let her find a way through. I can no longer see the deer so no idea where it escaped to. I manage to grab Lola and got the lead clipped on. And breathe.
Well we had'nt gone that far, although she had certainly had a good cardio workout, so I had for that matter, but not wishing to tempt providence I took her out onto the old railway track &continued our walk. The sticks that I find easy to throw, she chews up in seconds, the sticks she would like me to throw are 2kg + logs. I've tried explaining about torn muscles but she's not interested. I need a plan. I throw a small stick as a distraction then rapidly lob the log over the bridge into the river. The way my luck was going I had visions of her spotting it and diving in, but she did'nt ... thankfully. Got back absolutely sodden, watering rising up my jean legs as well as down into my wellies, to be greeted by a very waggily tailed dry Jack Russell.
Think I'm up to date now ... Later I'm off home for a few hours, leaving Lola & Bob to their own devices. We've got friends swinging by for dinner. Ben is English, his wife Sopha is Thai, we met them when we lived over in Thailand , they have been over for the past month, staying in Cornwall, now heading back to his family in London. When we lived in Thailand my husband, John, did'nt like spicy Thai food, so I made western food most days, only eating out occasionally because it was always a nightmare finding something on the menu he would be happy with. Now we're living back here in England he miraculously loves, not likes, LOVES spicy food. He's a Gemini. Not saying anything more. My Gran would have said "It's the nature of the beast" lol!!! I can't eat spicy food now, it burns my tongue & mouth, & my taste buds have been damaged so although I can make spicy food for him, I can't sample it as I'm cooking to see how it is flavour/heat wise, so Sopha has offered to make him Larb Moo, which is a delicious spicy Thai minced pork salad, for dinner tonight. Sopha would like roast turkey so that's where I get to do my thing. In fact I must go coz I always make my own stuffing etc. and time is marching on ..
Which leads me in to today's floral pic, although I actually took this last week in the glasshouse at Torre Abbey, in Torquay. Raw banana flower is often cut into thin wedges and served with spicy dipping sauces, and salads like Larb Moo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.