South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

Searching

We visited the Novium museum in Chichester today. It was my husband’s birthday and he has wanted to go there for ages, so we had lunch out and then went to have a look around. I had helped excavate the Roman site (baths) that the museum is built on. This is me looking through one of the “Chichester Excavations” books that I helped to do some drawings of pottery for. I was looking for a picture of a wine bottle and seal that I drew, but I couldn’t find it quickly. I have the books at home somewhere, so will have to look them out.

The extra is of the hypocaust under floor heating area which was part of the excavation site. I came along to the dig quite late on, so this was already exposed by the time I joined. After we finished, the site was backfilled with earth to protect it and a car park built over the top (!) with promises that part of it would be displayed eventually. It only took about thirty years for this promise to be fulfilled!

I should add that my son took these photos as his camera is better in low light. I had no idea he’d taken the one of me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.