Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Progress

Bike, though cut short by Archie in one of his standing near the pedals mood.

Well, our builders arrived at the appointed time of 11am. Three of 'em at one point, though they come and go. I suspect they're are the other job(s) till then. And again when they left about 2pm. There was lots of banging and drilling and yet another 'padstone' put in place. However, they got a lot done, and we are now shower-less. Now the real hardship begins...

And we have a new date for the start of the bathroom. Andrew, our builder, has put it off for a further two weeks! But at least we've got a firm (and achievable) date now - in March! Just as well we put off those visitors.

I posted off the sander that I was returning this morning, and I got a refund this afternoon! Very good service, I must say.

JR took Archie out while all the banging was going on, but I was happy to read my book (The Beekeeper's Promise). Then when they came back, surprised to find the builders gone, I popped out to B&Q to check out sanders. What and array of lovely little machines. Mind you, to find anyone to ask for advice was practically impossible, so I just plumped for (a cheap) one. I did actually find a person to ask at the paint area, but he was rather vague. They're all quite good. I've tried it out and it seems fine. A practically useless dust bag ( I got some masks, FP) and a nice long cord but much noisier than the first wee one. When I came back into the lounge, having whizzed around on the other side of the door, JR and Archie were cowering away over by the window, as far away from the noise as possible. I may need to do it when they're both out...

This is Archie, playing his little game. He likes to stop, let JR walk on, then when she calls him he comes running at full speed. (Photo by JR)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.