Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A pile of rubble...

Bike.

Actually, it's good that the builders come later, we’re not very good at early rises. I was awake at 6am, and usually put the radio on at 7am. I heard wots'ername say 'The time is twenty past eight' and I knew she'd made a mistake, as they sometimes do. I chuckled at the thought of people panicking because they were very late. Then I looked at the clock. It WAS 8.20!

A bit more rubble today, some drilling and plenty of dust, so slightly further forward. But it does seem to be a slow process till they get the beams in. Our lovely shower is now a pile of rubble. But we're going to have an even lovelier one. Eventually.

JR and Archie went out in the sunshine, but I don’t like to leave in case they need to ask me something. Trouble is, all this sitting around reminds that I could find something to eat...

I did pop out in the afternoon to pick up a prescription, and picked up a pizza on the way home. The kitchen is draped in plastic, so actual cooking is best avoided, but the microwave/convection oven is useable. It's also hard to get in and out of the back door because there's a huge sheet of scary flappy plastic, ceiling to floor, you have to scramble under/through. Poor wee Archie (after popping out for a pee before bed) was stuck on the other side of it last night till I rescued him.

Another JR photo. She's getting pretty good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.