Drowning in books!

Today there was a pop-up buy/borrow/donate bookshop at the Victory Hall at Benderloch. They have a Book Festival every year, but books are available anytime the hall is open for the various events that are held there. It's a book-lovers dream - there are thousands of books, ancient and modern. My Blip maybe shows getting on for half of them and the floor is littered by bags of books brought in and not yet sorted.

I spent three hours there including a soup and roll lunch and came away with a bag full of books for which I gave a donation. Many of them will go back when I've read them, but some I will keep, such as the lovely 1927 1st edition of A.A.Milne's 'Now We Are Six' and a very useful fill-it-in-yourself Family History book with spaces for everyone in the family who ever lived and what they had for breakfast. On top of all that it's an opportunity to meet old and new friends and chatter about books! My idea of a good day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.