Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

Chilly morning, rather slippery to walk but I managed not to take a tumble, fortunately! 
Back on lice duty and I also gave myself an extra assignment. I wanted to get rid of the sticky fluid on the leaves. My gloves got stuck, plant pieces got stuck, soft paper... and so on. I asked and my supervisor gave me a recipe for a water+soap+ a very small amount of white spirit (the red kind). She thought it be a tiresome projekt and sure... But, when I'd wiped the first couple of leaves I felt the plant go 'Ahhhhhhh!!', so it was worth it. I'm only sad I couldn't do the whole plant before my hours were up. I actually did some overtime just to get some more leaves cleaned before I went home. But, I had the energy and I didn't want to stress just to leave right on time. I was only happy I had the energy to do some more and wasn't so tired as I usually am after my hours. :)
The sticky fluid is the sugary stuff aphids leave, and beneath the sticky stuff fungus thrive, clogging the pores on the leaves and the plant has difficulties to breath. So, not surprised the plant reacted the way it did. :)
We also had a greenhouse meeting today and my supervisor told us that the aphids soon will be taken care of by insects instead. Then she said 'You're all pretty tired of lice, right?' and everyone just agreed...except for me. I said 'No, I'm not!' and then I said that I'm rather new too, so that can be the reason... Everybody laughed. A good way to end the meeting. :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.