Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Spitalfields' goat

I've been trying to claw myself out of the darkness that is February in England. It could be much worse, I grew up in the north.

With the afternoon free I went back to the Brick Lane area for a wander, to soak up a little winter sun and to experiment with a lens I don't often use.

I found myself looking at things in a slightly different way (extras).

'I Goat' sculpted by Kenny Hunter is the first Spitalfields' ' Sculpture Prize winner. The piece represents the persecution and sacrifice of the waves of migrants who have found sanctuary in this area over centuries.

The artist was born in Edinburgh in 1962, a year after and not far away from where I was born in Falkirk.

I love coming back to this area and spent many wonderful years working for The Times in Wapping just down the road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.