Scribbler

By scribbler

I get by with a little help from my friends

(I seem to be on a Beatles kick. Today I've been remembering the day John Lennon died, when I stayed awake all night listening to a California radio station that played nonstop Beatles songs for twenty-four hours. I'm listening to them now as I write this blip.)

I came across a blip of a painting on the Browse/Recent page and took a look. Blipper Gennepher was making gel prints, describing her process in detail. Intrigued, I sent an email to Sooz, my art teacher and friend, with a link: "Check this out!"   

Sooz spent three straight days in her studio experimenting and getting the kinks out. "Best source images: high contrast on shiny magazine paper. Best paint: Golden fluid acrylics. Best printing paper: the kind delis wrap sandwiches in!"   She showed up in class this week with a big stack of gel prints inspired by Gennepher's technique. We are all going to try it out during our next all-day class.

Like Picasso and Braque, from Wales to the Pacific Northwest we are making art together! Stay tuned for further developments.

Thank you, Gennepher, for the documentation and the art inspiration!
Thank you, John, Paul, George, and Ringo, for standing by me. 

----- Addendum -----
Extra: This is the deli wrap paper Sooz prints on. Possibly available from a restaurant supply store. Must be grease-resistant. Doesn't seem to be on Amazon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.