I think...

...I am on a winning streak with these magazine page transfers with these gel plate prints.

I have had some oopsies, but I think part of the trick to getting a good transfer is the amount of black acrylic on the gel plate. Not just that but spending the next minute or so brayering this way and that with the black acrylic and taking acrylic paint off the gel plate with a plastic palette knife. Then brayering again and maybe taking more paint off with the palette knife, and brayering the black acrylic again.

Then at the exact moment the acrylic paint doesn’t look glossy any more, but assumes a matt/satin finish, then I down the brayer immediately and grab the magazine page, place it on face down, quickly smooth it down and then lift it carefully.

Time is of the essence, because I have so little black acrylic paint on the gel plate compared to all the You Tube videos I have watched. It will dry very quickly. And the magazine paper can stick to the gel plate if I am not working quickly.

Doing it this way , I am now having more successes.

To most of you, this account of getting a good gel image to work from probably sounds boring! But I am pleased with myself!

I still have some more magazines to try out. And then a bit of experimentation in creating the prints.

With using so little paint on the gel plate, for some reason I am able to get up to 6 prints from the same image on the gel plate.

So, the first image might be just the black print.
The 2nd image will have had some coloured acrylic paint brayered over the image on the gel plate before I pulled that print.
The third image might be paint again over the image on the gel plate before I pulled the print.
Then the fourth image I pulled might be me spraying the gel plate with a fine water mister from a height over the plate, and this enables me pull this fourth print without putting any more paint on.
Then I brayer some light coloured acrylic paint on the gel plate which by now looks clean and shows no evidence of a black magazine transfer ever being on it. And hey presto, like magic, when I pull a fifth print, unbelievably another copy of the black transfer appears on the paper.
Then I have sprayed water from a fine mister again from a height (not right next to the gel plate), and have managed to pull a sixth print. And again you can see nothing on the gel plate, yet I can pull that 6th print.

I am actually very pleased with myself, but for you to read this is probably as boring as watching paint dry :)

On the top line those two of 6 prints as I have described above and no two are the same.

Also the same for the two on the bottom line, they are two of 6 prints from the same magazine image on the gel plate.

Thank you for reading this far!!!!

Thanks for your comments and love.
Take care x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.