Monday's painting...

...Acrylics. A4 size. 

This one was done with thin washes of acrylic painting, building them up layer by layer.

I have not done thin washes like this before.

The sun came out today. But the wind is bitterly  cold.

Because I had been going out to meet friends daily this week, I had arranged for my Amazon parcels to be delivered at a pick up point, so I could collect them on the way home. But as I said yesterday my friends all cancelled the coffee meetings and meals etc. because of the relative near proximity to me of the Wuhan British evacuees in quarantine at Arrowe Park...6 miles as the crow flies.

However, Amazon 'kindly' split up the parcels so they will be coming in dribs and drabs over the next few days at the pick up point. Normally this wouldn't be an issue, I would just collect them on the way home. 

Sigh...so this may mean daily trips to the local pick up point.

I did once try to redirect an Amazon parcel so it would now come to my bungalow, but alas it caused confusion and the parcel got lost.

So, I decided I would simply do a bit of shopping each day I have to collect a parcel.

This morning the queue filled the Post Office (the local collection point) and carried on into the street. It was bitter cold and a fierce wind. So, I am waiting in a queue of strangers. It was 15 minutes before I got into the Post Office. But it was an interesting 15 minutes. Everyone was talking and chatting among themselves. I did have a problem with being deaf and needing to lipread, so I said so. 

And guess what, these total strangers made a big effort to include me in their conversations, and I was able to contribute and engage with them. One woman said her sister had died on Friday, and that her sister was blind as well as deaf, but had still managed to live independently, and that her sister was 93. Then someone said that she had seen this woman's sister out and about over the years, and so the conversations went on. It was almost like a celebration of this woman's sister's life. 

Then someone helped me get my parcel and my walker into the car.

It was a good positive morning.

I am resting with cat Popeye on the couch now.   I need another cuppa tea...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.