The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Brigadoon?

I shot this scene from Steve's study window, using the 'pinhole' filter on my camera. It reminds me of a whole bunch of things musical: 1970s album covers by Led Zep, Yes, and the like; Brigadoon; The Fog on the Tyne; and another famous song The Whole of the Moon, which I first heard from an EFL teacher with the improbable name of Rawdon. He was a good soul, but was the only one of us who ever turned up at work dressed like a salaryman, briefcase and all! To set the scene, it was 1988, Tottenham Court Road, London, and we were teachers of English as A Foreign Language. Members of the Lost Tribe and the Heavy Drinking Society! Where is Rawdon (the name means Craggy Hill, but he was about 5 ft 6) now? On blipfoto perhaps?

On leaving home, I found the pavements frosty until I reached the hospital: from then on, it was a clear walk into town and the sun shone. Coming home by bus, we entered the twilight zone again at the hospital. I was looking at our frosted roof and congratulating myself on how well insulated it was, till I realised that all the ones on our side of the road were the same, for the sun doesn't shine on the front at all! Even the back garden was as foggy as when I left in the morning. It was a relief to close the curtains and go looking for old songs by the Waterboys!

CleanSteve has blipped me feeding the blackbirds. The ground was hard as rock this morning. The little fellas have picked out the bits they like, and left the rest! No matter what the bird food companies say, I maintain that it's a waste trying to feed birds anything other than 'straight' foods. They just don't like mixtures. But if I put out seeds or fat on an open tray, the squirrels' delight will know no bounds!

The Whole of the Song

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.