dailykeith

By dailykeith

Choppy waters

It's been a difficult few days. My wife has been suffering badly with a horrible bug she picked up. And, of course, there have been the electricity issues at our apartment (see previous entry).

I eventually discovered that the reason our power kept tripping was because the hot water tank had developed a leak and the water was short-circuiting the electrics. Ouch!

I anticipated a long wait to have it fixed, but the owner of the flat arranged for a replacement tank to be fitted in double-quick time. I think she even put her foot down and insisted they came on Wednesday and not this coming Saturday.

It meant I had to deal with a succession of visitors (staff from the development, plumbers, electricians), none of whom could speak English.

It was great practice for my Spanish. I have now added to my vocab a long list of words, including el calentador de agua (water heater), la caja de fusibles (fuse box), gotear (to leak), apagar (turn off)...

I added some more when I went to the farmacia to buy aceite de eucalipto because my wife's head was so congestionado. The photo was taken on that mission, showing appropriately choppy waters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.