Capital adventures

By marchmont

Mother of Water

After a disappointing breakfast (stodgy croissants) I went up town. Climbed a very steep hill for a view (very hot and sticky), nearly got locked in the museum grounds then walked to the peninsula where the Nam Khan river flows into the Mekong. Booked a trip for tomorrow, had a wee panic about money when my card was refused at 2 ATMs but I think it's sorted now. Well I did get money out and I think all banks charge here. I managed to choose one that charged 30, not 20, k kip.

While waiting to sort out the card problem I went back to the hotel for a swim then back up town for another ATM, then a burger and beer, mainly because there was a huge storm and I couldn't be bothered seeking out Lao food. I still got soaked waking home. Even the evening market traders were packing up early.

The mother of water is the Mekong. More than 60m people live in its basin and are dependent on it for food and power and transport and life really. The vehicle and passenger ferries ply from one bank to the other in Luang Prabang. Not quite Colintraive-Rhubodach or Sandbank but very busy. I'm off on a boat trip tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.