But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

From Penicuik Estate.

Having been pestered by a rash for several weeks, I had an appointment with the doctor this morning, and that worthy soul diagnosed three different infecting agents and prescribed four different evil smelling concoctions with which I am to anoint myself. I thought that it was best to do the weekly shop before so doing.
 
Having done that and sat in the reclining chair to drink my coffee, I awoke too late to cook tea, but in time to go to the evening’s planning meeting in Penicuik and, having been inspired by a talk at the camera club about night photography yesterday, I took camera and tripod with me. The early evening weather was quite promising: clear sky and half moon, however, when I left the meeting at 10 pm, the cloud had come down. Anyway, if you don’t make the effort, you don’t get the shot, so I went ahead with the plan and headed up to the Penicuik Estate car park. Like yesterday’s speaker, I managed to produce a picture and, also like him, I’m not going to win any competitions with my effort (his words – not mine).
 
The grass is illuminated by my head-torch which is a bit like the non-stick frying pan. Ask most people what the benefits of the moon landings were 50 years ago and you will usually get the fallacious answer, the non-stick frying pan. One of the benefits of me visiting St Kilda last summer is that I now have a head-torch. Be that as it may, the background and sky appear to be illuminated by fluorescent street lighting, at least, setting the white balance to “fluorescent” removes the horrendous colour cast in the original picture. It was an interesting exercise, and I do love tinkering both with the hardware and the software associated with photography; a bit like bee keeping and cycling really, they can both involve plenty of tinkering.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.