Days gone by

This sign went with a country store when I was young. It was burnt down but the sign remains as well as the home place which sits on a hill behind the now empty lot. As I was taking the shot the daughter of the last storekeeper drove up and stopped. I thought I may be in trouble as she walked up. She took my hand and thanked me for appreciating what was left of 4 generations of her family. She was elderly and we talked for a long time. She held my hand the whole time. She said this sign went up in 1956. She told me of 2 ghost who appeared in the home place. One child who she played with as a child on the third floor and one old maid who visited the woman who lived there before the current owners. I really enjoyed the time we spent talking there. The name Wise used to hang from the sign under the word groceries. That of course was the name of the 4 generations of owners. Her mother sold the property when her father passed away.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.