Can Do

I didn't get the sub-four I was shooting for, but I was satisfied with my time nevertheless. I crossed the line at 4:32, but with adjustment that will probably be about 4:28. Not bad. I was on track for a sub four up to 35 kilometers, but the last seven kilometers was over, and then back over, a large bridge. Going up the bridge, both times, was the only time I walked during the entire marathon, and that was very brisk walking so that also gave me satisfaction.

After changing and packing my bag after the marathon I realised I hadn't packed my camera. I went back to where I was sitting but I couldn't see it. A frantic couple of minutes looking around and taking everything out of my bag, then, luckily, I saw a staff member hand it to her superior. I said it was mine and she gave it back to me no questions asked. I love Japan; everyone is so honest here.

I went for a spa and sento afterwards. Heaven! Then I had a quick meal before coming home.

I had my Sony Walkman on shuffle and couldn't believe how appropriate was the track which took me over the finish. No, not Take Me Home by Phil Collins, but this - one of my favourite songs which guaranteed I had a big smile on my face as I crossed the line.

Extra - the ferris wheel in Rinku Town (where the marathon ended) in front of where I enjoyed my sento and spa.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.