Black swan

I decided on the spur of the moment to go to Petersfield Heath first thing this morning, as the dogs had been for a stroll round the garden and eaten their breakfast, and I was there by 8am. As I was wandering around I noticed a couple of, what looked to me like, black swans in the middle of the lake. It was hard to be sure at first due to the bright sunlight but I soon realised I was right. Whenever I take my camera I always find people stop to talk and today I lost count of the conversations I had - it's fair to say everyone is very excited about the black swans.

I assumed they'd be a bit more reticent about being fed by the various people who come along with bird food but, no, one of them was in the thick of it with the mute swans who, it has to be said, were picking on it somewhat. Anyway, fingers very much crossed that the black swans will hang around in spite of the lack of welcome from their mute cousins, build a nest and have cygnets!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.