Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

A Hardware Store for my Dad

I started a new structure kit today - Majestic Hardware (made by Bar Mills).  Not exactly a prototype for Dolores in 1949-50, but I figure that a farming town back then would need a hardware and feed store.  And since my Dad's favorite Saturday trip was to the hardware store, I thought it would be a good building for him on my Sn3 layout.  BTW many trips there were for me to buy glass to replace panes that I had broken - usually on purpose.  Hey - no one is perfect.  I was a slow learner.

It is a wood kit so I preped it with solvent based spray paint to seal it.  Then came the acrylic paint for final color.  This prevents the word from wrapping from the water based paint.  Since the kit has a pile of detail cast metal parts, I sprayed them as well.  I mount each part on a piece of dowel to hold while I paint the little details.  A fun part of the whole deal.  

The parts to the left are for a flatbed truck that I painted and will assemble for the the store to make deliveries.  It will have the logo on the door as well for "H.A.Berry's Majestic Hardware".

At the back are two figures I primed as well.  Once you fire up the spray booth might as well paint as much as you can or what you need for a scene. The guy with the hat is a brakeman that will be set on a switch stand, throwing the switch. The other guy will be pushing an old style wheel burrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.