Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Morning View

Woke up to puddles everywhere - on the outside of course. It has rained, quite a bit and as usual, caused traffic chaos. I had to get the Volvo to the garage first thing. Fortunately, the rain had stopped and there wasn't too much spray from other cars. Whilst my wipers work, there is no water to clean the windscreen. This is one of the problems the garage will be looking in to.

G followed behind and arrived just in time to get me to the Chamber of Commerce. Last week I became a member of the Dubai Business Women Council. Today, I attended my first "event" - a seminar titled Can A Business Survive Offline. It was led by a lady who works for Google in Ireland, so you can guess what the answer is. Seriously though, she was very good at putting her argument over and was very approachable.

I had to find my way back home, so decided the fastest and cheapest way was to cross over the creek in an abra and then get a taxi. The Frame in the centre of the picture marks where I live.

Got home to discover G had been in the kitchen preparing meals for the next few days. It was great to have a freshly cooked lunch and later in the afternoon, we went to Mall of the Emirates to watch Mary Queen of Scots. I don't know how accurate the portrayal of real-life events it is, but I felt it wasn't the easiest movie to watch.

G actually delivered a lesson after we got home and I finished the dusting I started on Friday. It's nice to have the windows open in this cooler weather, but that creates work!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.