Disturbing

This morning I turned on the TV to get some background noise while I did some work in the kitchen, and found myself tuned to our local ABC affiliate station.  They were in the midst of a weekly news  program I'd never come across before, nor did I recognize the host.  She began interviewing a woman who had just published a book stating that the Russia investigation was a hoax and that it was the FBI and NSA who had committed criminal actions.  As the hostess tossed soft questions at her guest, who went on at length about these issues, I began to wonder what was going on.  This book of fake news was being presented as of significant importance.  Then it occurred to me that perhaps the station had new ownership.  I checked online and, sure enough, they are now owned by Sinclair Broadcasting, which requires that they air this type of slanted "journalism."  What troubled me most about this is that the show looked much like other network weekend news programs - well-spoken, thoughtful-sounding folks who could be mistaken for real journalists by those who watch TV on this station, one of the oldest in Seattle.

The folks at Central Market seem to have decided that the worst of the cold is over and have put out large displays of colorful potted tulips and primroses.  It was certainly cold enough to make me shiver, but I suppose these plants are made to stand up to a temperature of 40 degrees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.