Richard P

By ricky_p

Back to the Pentlands

It's only been a week but with nothing else going on I decided to go for a solo Pentlands run.  I wasn't very organised this morning so by the time I got to my usual parking place at the Flotterstone inn at 10:15 it was full up. Therefore I carried along to the lay by at the start of Carnethy 5 where thankfully there were still spaces.

As I ran up Scald Law I was expecting to join a train of people but there was absolutely nobody to be seen. Perhaps they all just walked to the top of Turnhouse, got hit by the gale of wind and turned around. I carried along the Skyline route but although the weather started clear and windy it gradually got worse, up to point half way round when I put my cagoule on. When I got Bell's Hill and I could see Turnhouse and Carnethy still in black clouds I chose to drop to the reservoir. Once I actually got to the start of the Turnhouse climb it was clear again meaning I had endured sun, cloud, wind and rain all in one run.

This photo is taken on the climb up to Turnhouse, at the start of the spur, looking North towards Glencorse Reservoir and Castlelaw.  I liked the light and the tree. Obviously this makes the run look pleasant but a lot of it wasn't.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.