Day Today

By Feathers14

Last Moment in Liverpool

This was snapped outside our hostel in Liverpool on the morning of our departure.

There is a tragically simplistic reason why I like this photograph - aside from the fact that it's just quite a 'nice' photograph - yet it's symbolic of my growth as a photographer: I focused on the picture beyond the immediate subjects and re-composed the exposure to take this in to account.

Initially one of the lamposts either side of Cristina's head was sticking straight up out of the middle. In the past I wouldn't have looked at the background because I would have been too preoccupied with the picture's subjects. Noticing the lampost faux-pas and moving slightly so they were positioned better saved this shot from being ruined. Tragic, I know, but this sort of thing (thinking about the picture as a whole) is what makes for good photographs, and the whole idea of blipping is to get better at this art.

Sums up the whole weekend quite nicely - good weather, great company and excellent memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.