Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

Its me!!!

speaking to a church in Lilongwe and receiving a rose in welcome from them!  What an amazing morning we had.  Then we travelled to Dedza where were stopped for lunch and then on to Blantyre.

I was driving and here in Malawi people are on the campaign trail for elections right now - there is a presidential election in May.  Well, we got stuck in the middle of a rally for the Presidents party DPP, and I was stuck for over an hour in the middle of cars and people.  It was becoming quite scary as we were just surrounded, when a policeman eventually managed to get things moving so that we could get through!  Its not great being in a vehicle with foreign number plates during such a gathering!  

More drama as we travelled as I slowed down to let a motorbike in front turn right, when suddenly two cars came up behind at speed and over took me, the second car crashing into the motorcycle!  The car pulled in a bit up the road.  The motorcyclist got up and moved his damaged bike off the road, his shoe lying in the middle of the road with the wing mirror of the car that had hit him.  I did not get out when I saw he was walking and I passed the car which had hit him the lady got out and glared at me!  I was quite shaken by the whole incident but I knew that if I had got involved (now as a foreigner from Zambia) it could have been worse for me.  

I was so relieved to reach Blantyre safely!  No internet tonight - massive thunderstorm so this is a back blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.