The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

A Piece of Me

I became enchanted with crystals as a young child, while spending many a summer's day on the shores of Seneca Lake in Upstate New York, U.S.A.. I took long walks up the shore with my siblings, looking for Indian arrowheads and spearheads, and hoping to find the Holy Grail: Geodes!

On occasion, one of the nearby cliffs would miraculously eject one of these beauties, and send it smashing to the shore, exposing its quartz-filled glory. I will never forget discovering the remains of a HUGE geode one summer. My brother and I trolled up to the area in my dad's fishing boat to retrieve as many chunks of this beauty as possible.

For years, we all had pieces of that booty at our homes. For me, the Amethyst Quartz crystal holds special meaning, as it is my birth stone. Perhaps that is why the color purple is one of my favorites. I am especially partial to violet, and have highlighted this color in today's Blip.

Crystals are said to have great healing powers, with amethysts considered the most powerful. The power of it's vibrations is said to help calm the soul and help develop psychic powers. I could write chapters about crystal healing. It was a big fad in the 80's.

For me, crystals are simply lovely to look at and bring a smile to my face. I have slices of geodes and various shapes and sizes of crystals here and there in my home. This crystal was given to me by a dear friend who once was the nanny for my two daughters.

It reminds me of her, brings back memories of our days together, and takes me back to those summer days at Seneca Lake with my family.

For me, this represents happiness, love, and a piece of my soul.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.