The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Enter Here

I love to visit churches. The more ornate, the better. This is the side entrance to St. Anthony's Catholic Church in Hawthorne, New Jersey, U.S.A., complete with wreaths for the Advent Season.

I am not Catholic, but visit this church often, where I pray, meditate, and relax in the peaceful quietness it holds.

Today, I got a special treat. I had a private concert by the organist at the church, who was working on a lovely rendition of "Silent Night."

I think that the organist was thrown when I walked in, as this was a true rehearsal, not a performance. I sat quietly and basked in the beauty of the massive pipe organ's sound, smiling at those intervals when the pedal droned away and the musician programed sounds.

When I was attending The Boston Conservatory of Music, one of my close friends entrusted me to program the organ for the second part of her big recital. It was a thrilling experience, and I learned to appreciate and respect the job of a church organist.

Pipe organs are complex mechanisms, and the organ "stops" change electronically as a piece of music progresses. These changes must be programmed carefully, and sounds chosen with tonality and dynamics in mind. One mistake and.....well, you get the picture.

It is the season of Christmas, and one of my favorite times of year. I went to the church to pray and meditate, and ended up transported back to Boston, remembering my friend Mary Beth, and how much fun we had planning and executing her special day.

So, enter through this door and experience a spiritual journey down memory lane.

Imagine hearing "Silent Night" played in part with glorious chimes and resonating notes of the past. Two beautiful gongs at the end.

Sleep in heavenly peace.

Sleep.

In heavenly peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.