The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Sick Day

Today, I am not feeling well. In attempting to not miss a Blip day, I shuffled around my house, looking for something to photograph that fits in with putting my puzzling life into perspective.

This is not a real abacus. It is a photo of one of my German house building cards, along with my left index finger, in a mock demonstration of calculating on one of these confusing contraptions.

Yes, I had an abacus when I was a kid. I'm not sure what happened to it, but I never did take to using it, although I know people who say they are very practical and easy to manipulate.

I must admit that there are certain things about my childhood that I can't really explain, and my fascination with having an abacus is one of the mysteries of The Love Child that leaves me baffled.

At some point in my life, my geek status was lowered and the musician and writer in me took over. Owning an abacus was not cool any more.

When I moved away from home, it stayed in my desk drawer, a remnant of my days in thick glasses, Hush Puppies, with a Tom Boy's skinned knees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.