The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Soul Food

Today, there was a terrible tragedy in Newtown, Connecticut, U.S.A.. 20 tiny children and 6 adults were murdered by a lone gunman, barely out of high school himself.

Although I am feeling much better today, this event upset me and made my stomach jumpy. After all, my two daughters are now young women, and these little souls will never experience another day with their families and friends. Very sad.

I made some French bean and leek soup with chicken, and garnished it with Parmesan cheese, hot chili oil, and fresh parsley. It soothed by stomach and my nerves, and nourished my soul.

Soup heals colds and relaxes the mind, but today, it helped mend my broken heart.

Just a little.

Pray for those little souls lost, for the adults who left families with one less parent, and that the government of the U.S.A. does something about who can own guns.

What occurred today also happened in a movie theater and a shopping mall in the past few months. All of the shooters were young, disturbed men.

This should not be allowed to happen again. We must insist that guns not get into the wrong hands.

Much love to all.

Mel - The Love Child who got to grow up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.